Bob Costas and UT Austin students

Legendary sportscaster Bob Costas meets with students before his addres at the Frank Deford Lecture in Sports Journalism

Center for Sports Communication & Media

Sports communication students from the University of Alabama and the University of Texas met in Austin to collaborate on a number of writing and video projects that documented the activity surrounded the early season game between the two legendary football programs. For 2023, CSCM and the Alabama Program in Sports Communication will facilitate a student exchange for the game in Tuscaloosa.


2022 Jenkins Medal/Best Sportswriting finalists named

CSCM has announced 12 articles (by 14 writers) as nominees for Best Sportswriting of the year for the sixth iteration of the Dan Jenkins Medal for Excellence in Sportswriting. The awards are presented annually in honor of the legendary Texas sportswriter and best-selling author, who defined the sportswriter’s craft for a generation.

The Jenkins Medal is awarded in two categories:

  • The Dan Jenkins Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Sportswriting Award
  • The Dan Jenkins Medal for Best Sportswriting Award

The Best Sportswriting award cites accomplishment for a single piece published in the previous calendar year (2021). Both awards accompany a cash prize. The nominees for the 2022 Best Sportswriting category are:

"Sports reflect the full spectrum of the human experience, which is made clear by this year's outstanding nominees” said Dr. Michael Butterworth, director of the Center for Sports Communication & Media. “Looking back at these defining stories from 2021, we see moments of devastation and inspiration, behind-the-scenes insights about the past and glimpses into the future, and reflections on the ongoing contests over identity and power. These 12 pieces are a testament to sports as a source of joy, loss, struggle, and redemption, and they beautifully represent the art of sportswriting symbolized by the legacy of Dan Jenkins."

Final voting for Best Sportswriting award will be conducted by a jury of sportswriters that include co-chairs Sally Jenkins and Michael MacCambridge and committee members Kevin Blackistone, Kirk Bohls, Bryan Curtis, Melanie Hauser, Jackie MacMullan, Kathleen McElroy, Wright Thompson, Grant Wahl and Alexander Wolff.

The voting for lifetime achievement in sportswriting will be conducted by the co-chairs Jenkins and MacCambridge with a committee that includes Karen Crouse, Chuck Culpepper, Gerald Early, Vahe Gregorian, Will Leitch, Joe Posnanski, Steve Rushin, John A. Walsh and Seth Wickersham. Nominees for the lifetime achievement award are not made public.

The 2022 Lifetime Achievement and Best Sportswriting winners will be announced in the coming month. CSCM will host an in-person dinner on September 23 in Austin to celebrate this year’s the winners and those from the previous two years, whose awards dinners have been canceled by the COVID-19 pandemic. The upcoming dinner will also feature the 2022 Jenkins Medal Sports Legend, who will be announced soon.

For more information, please visit

Frank Deford and Mike Cramer

The Frank Deford Lecture in Sports Journalism

The Center for Sports Communication and Media hosts the Frank Deford Lecture in Sports Journalism every April on the UT-Austin campus to hear leading professionals address the pressing cultural issues of the day. Named after the iconic journalist who left substantial bodies of work in print, radio and television at the time of his death in 2017, the Deford Lecture offers Moody College students access to the leading sports journalists of the day.

Wright Thompson and Dan Jenkins

The Dan Jenkins Medal for Excellence in Sportswriting

The Center for Sports Communication and Media hosts the Dan Jenkins Medal for Excellence in Sportswriting as a celebration of the craft and history of sportswriting. Named in honor of the legendary Texan and one of the most accomplished sportwriters of his generation, the Jenkins Medal is awarded annually at a dinner every fall.

CSCM Tweets