Jenkins Medal dinner one

2021: Angell and Jackson cited

2021 Jenkins Medal/Best Sportswriting finalists named

CSCM is announcing its 12 nominees for Best Sportswriting of the Year for the fifth iteration of the Dan Jenkins Medal for Excellence in Sportswriting. The awards are presented annually in honor of the legendary Texas sportswriter and best-selling author, who defined the sportswriter’s craft for a generation.

The nominees for the 2021 Best Sportswriting category are:

The Jenkins Medal is awarded in two categories:

  • The Dan Jenkins Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Sportswriting Award
  • The Dan Jenkins Medal for Best Sportswriting Award

The Best Sportswriting award cites accomplishment for a single piece published in the previous calendar year (2020). Both awards accompany a cash prize.

"In a year defined by challenges, sports remained an important daily touchstone,” said Dr. Michael Butterworth, director of the Center for Sports Communication & Media. “This year's nominees reveal how sports reflected and defined the most crucial issues of 2020, with some assessing their absence and presence during the pandemic, calls for social justice, and political divisions in an election year. Other nominees remind us that sports need not be understood only in the context of crisis, as they offer unique windows into human relationships and universal themes of hope and opportunity. Together, these 12 outstanding finalists eloquently express the complexity of sports and the role they can play in our lives."

Final voting for Best Sportswriting award will be conducted by a jury of sportswriters that include co-chairs Sally Jenkins and Michael MacCambridge and committee members Kevin Blackistone, Kirk Bohls, Bryan Curtis, Melanie Hauser, Kathleen McElroy, Kevin Robbins, John A. Walsh, Gene Wojciechowski, Grant Wahl and Alexander Wolff.

The voting for lifetime achievement in sportswriting will be conducted by the co-chairs Jenkins and MacCambridge with a committee that includes Chuck Culpepper, Gerald Early, Vahe Gregorian, Will Leitch, Joe Posnanski, Steve Rushin, Wright Thompson and Seth Wickersham. Nominees for the lifetime achievement award are not made public.