School of Journalism at The University of Texas at Austin's Moody College of Communication Hosts Series of Speakers for Centennial

AUSTIN, Texas — Feb. 26, 2014 — The School of Journalism at The University of Texas at Austin's Moody College of Communication is celebrating its 100th anniversary with a series of public events in 2014.

From Walter Cronkite to Bill Moyers, Liz Carpenter to Lady Bird Johnson, 26 Pulitzer Prize winners and so many others whose lives and careers have been shaped by the School of Journalism, the centennial is a celebration of what has been accomplished. The centennial also celebrates the School's future and new digital-based undergraduate journalism curriculum.

Following is a schedule of speakers: 
March 6 – Baratunde Thurston, New York Times bestselling author – 3:30 p.m. on March 6 at the Belo Center for New Media's second-floor auditorium (2.106), 300 W. Dean Keeton St.

The co-founding CEO of Cultivated Wit, Thurston wrote the New York Times bestseller "How To Be Black" and served for five years as director of digital for The Onion. When he's not delivering keynote talks at gatherings such as SXSW Interactive, LeWeb, and Personal Democracy Forum, he writes the monthly back page column for Fast Company and contributes to the MIT Media Lab as a director’s fellow. He co-founded the black political blog, "Jack and Jill Politics," has advised the Obama White House and has more than 10 years experience in standup comedy.

March 24 – John Schwartz, national correspondent for The New York Times – 4 p.m. at the Belo Center for New Media's first-floor auditorium (1.202). Schwartz will deliver the 2014 William Randolph Hearst Fellow Award Lecture.

Schwartz is the national legal correspondent for The New York Times. Before taking on the legal beat in January 2009, he was a member of the paper's Science staff, and wrote primarily about space travel. Before coming to the Times, he worked for the Washington Post, and before that, Newsweek. He is the author of "Oddly Normal," and an alumnus of The University of Texas at Austin School of Law.

The William Randolph Hearst Fellow Award honors individuals whose distinguished careers in communication make them outstanding role models for students. The Hearst Fellow Award is one component of Moody College's William Randolph Hearst Visiting Professionals program, which was endowed by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation in 1990.

March 27 – Rick Atkinson, Pulitzer Prize-winning author and journalist – 3:30 p.m. at the Belo Center for New Media's second-floor auditorium.

At The Washington Post, Atkinson covered the Persian Gulf and Iraq Wars and served as Berlin bureau chief. He also is a Pulitzer-winning author of six books, including "The Army at Dawn." His most recent book is the best-selling "The Guns at Last Light," the final volume of his Liberation Trilogy, a narrative history of the U.S. military's role in the liberation of Europe in World War II.

April 24 – Neil Leifer, filmmaker and sports photographer – 3:30 p.m. at the Belo Center for New Media's Auditorium (2.160)

Beginning in 1960, Leifer's pictures regularly appeared in every major national magazine, including the Saturday Evening Post, Look, LIFE, Newsweek, Time and, most often, Sports Illustrated. He is the 2006 recipient of the prestigious Lucie Award for Achievement in Sports Photography. Leifer has published 16 books, nine of which have been collections of his sports photographs.

Sept. 24 – Bob Woodward, bestselling author and journalist - 4:00 p.m. at Belo Center for New Media's Auditorium (2.160)

Woodward is the author of 12 number-one national bestsellers, including "All the President's Men," which chronicled the Watergate scandal that led to President Nixon's resignation. He and Carl Bernstein won the Pulitzer Prize for their Watergate coverage for The Washington Post.

The event also will honor the School's Pulitzer Prize winners.

Candy Crowley, chief political correspondent for CNN, will present the Mary Alice Davis Distinguished Lecture in Journalism at a yet to be scheduled time in the fall of 2014.

For more information about the School of Journalism's centennial anniversary, visit and join the conversation at #utjschool100.

Since beginning in 1914, the School of Journalism has trained more than 12,000 journalists in top-ranked undergraduate and graduate programs, and is one of 12 journalism schools in the Carnegie-Knight Initiative on the Future of Journalism Education. In 2012, the School introduced a new digital-based undergraduate curriculum and moved into the state-of-the-art, 120,000-square-foot Belo Center for New Media.

Contacts: Laura Byerley, (512) 471-2182; Wanda Cash, (512) 471-1965.

Laura Byerley
Public Affairs Representative