Hall of Fame

Professor John Murphy and three Moody College alumni inducted in Southwest Advertising Hall of Fame

Southwest Hall of Fame Banner

Four Moody College legends who committed their lives to the advertising profession will now be honored with official induction in the Southwest Advertising Hall of Fame in recognition of their exceptional careers and lifetime achievements.

Before his career in academia, Professor Emeritus John Murphy hustled in the advertising industry in positions from sales and marketing to strategic planning. As a researcher, Murphy published in the Journal of Advertising, Journal of Business, Journal of Business Research, and Journal of Marketing Education among many others.

He also served on the board of directors for the American Advertising Federation (AAF), where he coordinated for the Vance and Betty Lee Stickell Student Internship Program and counseled the National Advertising Student Competition to several national wins. In his four decades with the Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations, Murphy earned 15 awards and distinctions for outstanding teaching alone including election to the UT Austin Academy of Distinguished University Teachers and a UT System Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award. He will also be honored at the Texas Exes “Texas 10” awards May 11 that celebrates professors whose students believe them to have left a mark on their lives.

Three of the four original founders of Austin-based advertising giant GSD&M are graduates of Moody College, including Tim McClure (B.J. ’70), Judy Trabulsi (B.S. ’70) and Steve Gurasich (B.J. ’71). Friend of the Moody College Roy Spence (B.A. ’71), current chairman and co-founder of GSD&M, will also be inducted.

The firm is one of America’s most successful advertising agencies that’s served blue chip clients such as Southwest Airlines, PGA Tour, Goodyear, AT&T, Zales, John Deere, Marshalls, AARP, Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen, ACE Hardware, L.L. Bean, Pulte Group and the United States Air Force.

The Southwest Advertising Hall of Fame consists of an elite group of individuals who have made tremendous contributions to the advertising industry. It is sponsored by the Tenth District of the American Advertising Federation (AAF), which includes Texas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Arkansas. AAF-Fort Worth will host an inductee ceremony recognizing the eleventh class of this Hall of Fame. Other inductees include friend of the Moody College Jim Moroney, founders of Stone Ward advertising firm Larry Stone and Millie Ward, Roger Rienstra, Ann Iverson and Rick De Julio. The ceremonial dinner will be held on April 7 at the Historic Hilton in conjunction with the annual convention presented by the AAF Tenth District.

Marc Speir
Senior Content Producer