Great Conversations 2020

Great Conversations 2020 Logo

A celebration of 20 years of the Annette Strauss Institute

Great Conversations 2020 will be postponed until fall 2020. We will share an update as soon as the new date is confirmed. We hope that you will still be able to join us! To paraphrase a sentiment from Dr. Rod Hart, we expect that American politics will still need a bit of fixing in October. Our conversation will remain important.

Wishing you good health, peace of mind, and clean hands.

Please join the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life at The University of Texas at Austin and Honorary Event Co-Chairs, Janie Strauss McGarr and Nancy Strauss Halbreich for Great Conversations 2020: Fixing American Politics on Thursday, October 1, 2020.

Featuring panelists:

Matthew Dowd
Dr. Brandon Rottinghaus
Karen Tumulty

The dinner and discussion will call each of us—whether we hold the title of elected official, parent, teacher, student, volunteer, manager, leader, reporter, officer, artist, technologist, neighbor, or voter—to reflect on our role in defining, living, and spreading civic values such as education and participation in a public arena that is too often marred by incivility, gridlock, and distrust.

Additionally, the evening will feature the presentation of the Shirley Bird Perry Longhorn Citizenship Award to Admiral B.R. Inman.

To purchase a table and become a named sponsor and financial supporter of the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life, click here.

Become a Sponsor

Individual tickets for $150 each are available for purchase here.

Purchase Tickets

All proceeds raised at the event directly support the education and research mission of the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life.

2020 Great Conversation Leaders

Scott Braddock Headshot

Scott Braddock

The Quorum Report

Representative John Bucy III

The Honorable John H Bucy III

Representative District 136
Texas House of Representatives

Lisa Craven

Lisa Craven

Deputy Comptroller/Chief Clerk & Chief of Staff
Comptroller of Public Accounts

Tom Currah Headshot

Tom Currah

Chief Revenue Estimator
Comptroller of Public Accounts

Sarah Davis Headshot

The Honorable Sarah Davis

Representative District 134
Texas House of Representatives

Matthew Dowd Headshot

Matthew Dowd

ABC News Political Analyst & Author

Sara Eckhardt Headshot

Sara Eckhardt

Travis County

Angela Evans Headshot

Dean Angela Evans

LBJ School of Public Affairs
The University of Texas at Austin

Larry Faulkner Headshot

Dr. Larry Faulkner

President Emeritus
The University of Texas at Austin

Gregory L. Fenves

The University of Texas at Austin

Roderick P. Hart Headshot

Roderick P. Hart

Shivers Chair in Communication, Professor of Government
Founding Director, Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life
The University of Texas at Austin

Donna Howard Headshot

The Honorable Donna Howard

Representative District 48
Texas House of Representatives

Representative Todd Hunter

The Honorable Todd Hunter

Representative District 32
Texas House of Representatives

Nelson Linder Headshot

Nelson Linder

President, Austin Chapter

Commissioner Emily Lindley Headshot

Emily Lindley

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Ross Ramsey

Ross Ramsey

Executive Editor and Co-Founder
Texas Tribune

Brandon Rottinghaus Headshot

Brandon Rottinghaus

Professor of Political Science & Author
The University of Houston

Alex Samuels Headshot

Alex Samuels

Political Reporter
Texas Tribune

Kel Seigler Headshot

The Honorable Kel Seigler

Senator District 31
The Texas Senate

Dr. Daron Shaw Headshot

Dr. Daron Shaw

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
The University of Texas at Austin

Victoria de Francesco Soto Headshot

Victoria De Francesco Soto

Assistant Dean for Civic Engagement and Lecturer
The LBJ School of Public Affairs

Patrick Svitek Headshot

Patrick Svitek

Political Reporter
Texas Tribune

Representative James Talarico

The Honorable James Talarico

Representative District 52
Texas House of Representatives

Larry Taylor Headshot

The Honorable Larry Taylor

Senator District 11
The Texas Senate

Karen Tumulty

Karen Tumulty

Washington Post

Chris Turner Headshot

The Honorable Chris Turner

Representative District 101
Texas House of Representatives

Representative John Turner

The Honorable John Turner

Representative District 114
Texas House of Representatives