Great Conversations 2018

View the Flickr slideshow of this year's event here.

Please join the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life at the University of Texas at Austin and Honorary Event Chair, The Honorable Joe Straus, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives for Great Conversations 2018: Our Shared Responsibility as Citizens of Democracy.

Consistent with tradition, each dinner table will feature a notable conversation leader who will facilitate a spirited and civil conversation.  This year, the dinner and discussion will call each of us -- whether we hold the title of elected official, parent, teacher, student, volunteer, manager, leader, reporter, officer, artist, technologist, neighbor, or voter -- to reflect on our role in defining, living, and spreading civic values such as education and participation in a public arena that is too often marred by incivility, gridlock, and distrust.

Additionally, the evening will feature the presentation of the inaugural Shirley Bird Perry Longhorn Citizenship Award to UT Alumnus Darren Walker, President of the Ford Foundation.

To purchase a table and become a named sponsor and financial supporter of the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life, click here

Individual tickets for $150 each will be offered for sale after March 1. 

To purchase individual tickets to the dinner click here

All proceeds raised at the event directly support the education and research mission of the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life.

Jim Bayless
Board Member
Texas State Cemetery

Ann Beeson
Center for Public Policy Priorities

Colette Pierce Burnette
Huston-Tillotson University

The Honorable Garnet Coleman
Texas State Representative
District 147

Christi Craddick
Railroad Commission of Texas

Greg Fenves
The University of Texas at Austin

Simone Talma Flowers
Executive Director
Interfaith Action of Central Texas

The Honorable Gina Hinojosa
Texas State Representative
District 49

Debbie Hiott
Austin American-Statesman

The Honorable Donna Howard
Texas State Representative
District 48

The Honorable Todd Hunter
Texas State Representative
District 32

The Honorable Celia Israel
Texas State Representative
District 50

Dr. Molly Beth Malcolm
Executive Vice President of Campus Operations and Public Affairs
Austin Community College

Mimi Marziani
Executive Director
Texas Civil Rights Project

Leonard Moore
Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement (Interim)
The University of Texas at Austin

Linda Moore
President and CEO

Christine Plonsky
Women's Athletic Director
The University of Texas at Austin

Ross Ramsey
Executive Editor and Co-Founder
The Texas Tribune

Oscar Rodriguez
Texas Association of Broadcasters

Jenifer Sarver
Sarver Strategies

The Honorable Kel Seliger
Texas State Senator
District 31

Paul Stekler
The University of Texas at Austin

The Honorable Joe Straus
Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives

Stewart Vanderwilt
Assistant Dean for Media Operations and Director, KUT
The University of Texas at Austin

Lemuel Williams
Vice President
Williams Strategies

The Honorable Judith Zaffirini
Texas State Senator
District 21

The Honorable John Zerwas
Texas State Representative
District 28

Spencer Cronk
City Manager
City of Austin

The Honorable Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa
Texas State Senator
District 20

Jim Henson
Director of Communication Strategy and Director of the Texas Politics Project
The University of Texas at Austin

Bill Stotesbery
General Manager