Texas Program in Sports and Media


About the program

Board of Advisors

Founding Members

Cappy McGarr (BA 1973, BJ 1975 MBA 1977), Managing Partner, US Renewable Energy Group

Dr. Steven Ungerleider (BA 1970), psychologist, United State Olympic Committee

Active Members

Dr. Isabella Cunningham, chair of Department of Advertising and Public Relations, UT-Austin

Tracy Dahlby, Frank A. Bennack Chair in Journalism, UT-Austin

Josh Davis (BS 1990), entrepreneur and winner of 10 Olympic medals in swimming

Kiki De Ayala (BS 1987), President, De Ayala Properties, LLC and former UT football standout

Suzanne Halliburton (BJ 1983), sports reporter, Austin American-Statesman

Mark Pannes (BS 1991), Director, Raptor Accelerator and Outstanding Alumnus of the College

Fran Harris (BS 1990), owner, Fran Harris TV and a former UT basketball All-American

Brian Jones (BS 1991), College football analyst at CBS College Sports Network and former UT football standout

Bryan Perez (BS 1991), President of Digital, Ticketing and Media, AEG

Casey Coffman (JD 1994), Senior Director of Business Affairs, Augusta National Golf Club

Ted Shaker, former executive producer, CBS Sports

Jim Krause (BA 1974), owner, Krause Advertising

Talmage Boston (JD 1976), partner, Winstead, PC and baseball historian

Ed Cunningham (BBA 1990), managing partner, US Renewable Energy Group

Jim Ritts (BS 1976), executive director, and former commissioner of Ladies Professional Golf Association

Mike Barnett (BBA 1975, MBA 1977), President and CEO, Benchmark Bank

Jared Hoffman, (BS 1996) Senior Vice President, Defy Media

Steve Underwood (BJ 1973), Senior Executive Vice President (retired), the Tennessee Titans

DeLoss Dodds, Athletics Director (retired), UT-Austin

Chris Plonsky, Athletics Director, UT-Austin

Eric Sorensen, principal, D1 Digital Media

Kate Cassidy, General Counsel, Texas Rangers

Gene Menez, editor, Austin Home magazine

TPSM Fellows

Sean Adams, author and radio host, AM 1300 The Zone

Patrick Hruby, contributing editor, VICE Sports

Kirk Goldsberry, professor, writer,

Jessica Luther, author, writer

The Moody College of Communication

The Texas Program in Sports and Media is part of U.T.'s Moody College of Communication, the largest and most comprehensive entity in the field and one of the highest ranked as well.

In an age requiring information literacy and polished interaction skills, the Moody College has nationally ranked programs in the programs that TPSM touches (Advertising and Public Relations, Communication Studies, Journalism, and Radio-TV-Film) while also providing communication, critical thinking, and writing skills to other disciplines across campus. TPSM collaborates within and across the disciplinary boundaries of the Moody College to support curriculum, research and programming on issues of sport and society as they may be reflected in any given instance.

The College's graduates have spanned the globe and include U.S. ambassadors, corporate CEOs, media entrepreneurs, state and federal legislators, nineteen Pulitzer Prize winners, researchers, filmmakers, actors, and one First Lady of the United States.

The Belo Center for New Media

The Texas Program in Sports and Media is pround to be housed in the Belo Center for New Media, which was formally dedicated to UT Ausitn in November 2012.

In its basic design and structure, the Belo Center crosses traditional disciplinary boundaries and to create new forms of communication and collaboration. It combines cutting-edge technology, trans-disciplinary programs, and international perspectives. It enables students to combine traditional methods with progressive media to shape ideas that will change the face of communication throughout the world.

The Belo Center is situated at a major intersection that serves as a gateway to the northwestern side of The University. Such a location means that the building will be highly visible to University personnel as well as to the people of Austin.


Michael Cramer

Executive Director

Michael J. Cramer

Michael Cramer is the executive director of TPSM. A former president of the Texas Rangers and the Dallas Stars and, more recently, a professor in sports management at New York University, Cramer is the founding director of the Moody College of Communication initiative.

Cramer is responsible for start-up leadership, fundraising and programming for the program. He also teaches in the Moody College, alternating between The Business of Sports Media and Sports, Media and the Integration of America Society.

Cramer earned his law degree from Marquette University Law School and his bachelor's degree from the State University of New York. Here is a video of Cramer discussing his experience in business and sports and Dr. Robert Prentice, professor at UT-Austin's McComb's School of Business.

TPSM news blog

Media Mentions

UT-Austin links